expiationmods: (Default)
Expiation Mods ([personal profile] expiationmods) wrote in [community profile] expiationooc2025-02-01 09:33 am
Entry tags:

SOTG FEBRUARY 2025

AC RESULTS

The following characters have been removed from the game:
[personal profile] aonibi
[personal profile] valiantarms
[personal profile] coordinatroll
[personal profile] starringsecond
[personal profile] demonicbookworm
[personal profile] garbagecanned
[personal profile] westcoasts
[personal profile] cartridgerefill
[personal profile] hamachaya
[personal profile] invinciblemikey
[personal profile] spidermenaces
[personal profile] mechanically
[personal profile] arachnerina
WHAT'S NEW? UPDATED CALENDAR IS HERE. (give me a minute because I'm having trouble with the spreadsheet this morning lmfao)

STATE OF MODS
Coming up, there will be another shift in the mod team. Kri will be stepping down from her position as co-mod of the game. We thank her for her tireless work on helping with the lore and game events for the past year and a half on the mod team! But for many of us, there comes a point where sometimes people need to step back and take some things off their plate.


What does this mean for Expiation? Jenni and Elise, who maintain lists and schedules, will be looking for help with running and maintaining the game for the future. This help will be heavily involved in the creative side of the game, as well. We have a rough timeline for our next plot arc, but we’ll need help bringing that to life and steering the direction of the game for the future. We will be looking for at least one mod–maybe two.


If you think you might be interested, mod applications will be open as of today. We’ll review them around mid-month, and hope to be welcoming new team members hopefully by March. Please submit mod applications HERE.

AC CHANGE
After some consideration and conversation, the mod team has decided to rework the activity system. The new rules are as follows:


- AC must be a total of 15 comments, from any number of threads.
- For a thread to be eligible for AC, it must contain at least 3 comments from you dated within the current month.
- You may link a full top-level as an activity proof, but individual threads within that top-level will not be eligible for bonus activity rewards. You may, as always, link individual threads from within your top-level instead if you wish.
- Backdated threads can be used for AC, so long as the tags counted are within the AC period. For example: a thread started in December may be used for January’s AC, so long as the tags linked are from January. Once a thread has been used for AC, it cannot be used for a later month's AC, nor is it eligible for bonus rewards.
- AC may be a combination of backdated and threads started in the current month. Only one proof must be from a thread started in the current month to pass AC.
- All threads submitted for AC must be from different characters. For example, you may submit threads with Bill, Jane, Steve, and Rebecca, but you may not submit two threads with Rebecca for the same month's AC.
- We are removing the restriction about using the same character for AC for more than two months in a row. If we see someone abusing this change (for example, submitting threads with Steve for every month's AC), we may PM that player and ask for additional proofs.
- Expiation has no formal strike system, but if we determine AC to be lacking in some way, we may ask for additional activity proofs in a future month.
Hiatuses can be posted for the month up until the 15th of each month. Any extenuating circumstances (emergencies, illnesses, etc) past that time will be handled on a case-by-case basis through the Mod Contact page, or through a PM to the mod account.


In addition to these new rules, there’s one new addition to bonus activity: an open post or top-level can now be used as its own proof for regains and rewards. Threads within that post (or top-level) will still be eligible for rewards as normal, but the top-level comment cannot be counted as part of the thread, in that case.


All of these things will be added onto the AC post in the coming days!

A NOTE ABOUT ACTIVITY
With regard to activity check, we've had several questions around the theme of writing quality. We have been asked if activity checks could be based on word count, or if log tags should carry more "weight" than network tags, things like that. The answer to both of these questions, and other similar questions based around writing quality, is no. When we look at activity, we're never questioning the quality of writing, nor are we looking at tag length. Everyone writes and tags in different ways; we will not penalize those who make use of our network community, or wish to write shorter tags.


What we do look at is engagement. Who's tagging out? Who's dropping threads after 2-3 comments? Who's reaching out to players and characters? We look specifically at patterns of tagging, rather than writing quality or OOC planning. We look at who's interacting with the plot, and who is ignoring it entirely. We look at whether players are consistently present, or whether they disappear for weeks and then rush through activity in the last few days of the month. We totally get that sometimes, it's unavoidable. But when it becomes a pattern of habits and leads to someone not engaging with the game overall, it becomes an issue we have to address.


In short: we love seeing the ways that people interact with our setting. We have a diverse range of players, tag styles, even native languages! We will never penalize or reward a player based on the length or perceived quality of a tag. All tags are good tags. We ask simply that you show your characters' presence in the game and enjoy the setting in the way that works best for you.

APPLICATIONS
As we haven’t crossed our 60 player and below threshold, apps for new players are going to be closed this time around. We will still have the TDM that current players can test new characters on, as well as an app round for players who would like to add another character to their roster.

SENTENCING
Our automatic pool is: Gilgamesh (public indecency), Akutagawa (dismembering another Chosen), Vi (assault), Caitlyn (accessory to violence).


We will have six extra slots open for those who may want to sign up. As usual, if we surpass that amount, we will RNG who gets Sentenced!


THIS MONTH IN ALDRIP Seems like most people woke up in the end. Yay! But that doesn’t necessarily mean the dream effects are quite gone. Some may see their dreams cross into the waking world in their periphery – just for a moment, and then it’s gone. If a character tries to look at it head-on, it’s also gone.


Love is… in the air? To go along with the TDM this month, Valentine’s Day items might start popping up around Aldrip. But they all seem kind of… wrong. Some decorations may look creepy, while others just look like they were haphazardly thrown together. That’s not weird at all. Right?


A LOVE NOTE / FEEDBACK? Thank you guys in advance for your patience. We know that there are a lot of changes being made right now, but we really hope that you bear with us through them. We’re going to try to make them as seamless as possible, because we want this game to keep running and we have some excited stuff planned! We love you all, and happy February!



idk Jenni voted for bats this month


code credit.





beastundermoonlight: (Default)

[personal profile] beastundermoonlight 2025-02-01 05:44 pm (UTC)(link)
Hello, I did not realize until it was pointed out, but Atsushi is guilty of attempted kidnapping on another Chosen, so I will sign him up for sentencing!
Edited 2025-02-01 17:58 (UTC)
memori3s: (Default)

[personal profile] memori3s 2025-02-02 05:40 am (UTC)(link)
Throwing Minato into the pool for a laugh. Also in hindsight idk when the free crime change from June of last year happened IC time-wise for Minato, because that's also when he got his murder crime assignment from the council due to sentencing... I've been running with murder as opposed to what I changed his crime to tho because it's funnier JFJDHSJCGS
izanagis: (Default)

[personal profile] izanagis 2025-02-02 02:02 pm (UTC)(link)
Signing up! Yu's Crime is "assaulting a police officer." This crime is directly about fighting Adachi at the end of the game, bringing up the question of "do the ends ever justify the means?" Yes, it's technically accurate, but if it's in service of stopping a murderer, if it's the only way, should a person feel remorse? (Spoiler alert: Yu doesn't!!)
Edited 2025-02-03 04:34 (UTC)
cupidsammo: (pic#17637893)

[personal profile] cupidsammo 2025-02-03 12:54 am (UTC)(link)
Fuck it we ball. Signing Koharu up!

Her crime is 'frequent shooting of unsuspecting civilians'.
ashaya: ( ᴄʜʀᴏᴍᴇsᴛʜᴇsɪᴀ: ᴅɴs. ) (pic#17220714)

[personal profile] ashaya 2025-02-01 03:44 pm (UTC)(link)
Hey!

First off: I really do love Expi and want to see it thrive and help open communication between all parties, regardless of what their job description is or isn't. You guys put a ton of love and effort into the game, and it shows! We just want to help it continue to be a lovely place and sometimes that means having harder conversations, which I appreciate you heard. I can say with certainty that we’ll miss Kri and that we’re all incredibly glad to have had her for the time we did. I am also very happy that you all listened to our concerns (again!) and that you’ve used them/applied them as you have! Thank you all again.

However, I did want to mention the note about “tagging styles,” and what is and is not weighted. I (and I am sure others) are aware that there was a discussion held last week about general experiences in DWRP. We shortcutted a lot of our conversation in that we didn’t elaborate on every point we’ve already hashed over, but there is a pattern of behavior I am noting. Within that discussion, in the contact form(s), and so on, many responses have been very curt and/or undercut with the suggestion that we’re implying that some tags are “lesser than” when everyone was speaking solely of their own experiences, capacities, and abilities.

Considering how close some of these responses came and the note above, it can be difficult to maintain the perception that it isn’t intended as a continuation of the idea that there’s a group of us that look down on others. That simply isn’t the case, and I want to be clear that it never has been the case. Again, it was just several individuals speaking about our own capacities, preferences, experiences, and abilities. I, like everyone else, have no intention of trying to fuel this narrative of “us vs. them.” I understand personal frustrations, but I feel as though I (and others) have already elaborated on what we meant/clarified what we meant several times in the last few days, and it can be disheartening to see it carried forward again. It feels like it is being “held against us,” despite the intention likely being otherwise.

I will also say to that end that I, like others, am often inclined to answer quickly. I am not going to assume what everyone’s moods are when they respond to questions posed by others in an official capacity, but the curtness of many responses received over the past year or so and/or the prior dismissal of concerns until it “blows up” in other ways is a concerning reprise. I don’t think we had to get to this point, and I know that we all just want to work with you all to make the game a welcoming and fun place to be.
Edited 2025-02-01 15:47 (UTC)
baldrshand: Looking over her shoulder with a smile (Default)

[personal profile] baldrshand 2025-02-01 03:51 pm (UTC)(link)
I agree with this comment! Whenever I talk about difference with tagging styles I do my best to emphasize that I am not coming at it from a place of judgement, but solely personal preference. When I say that I am more comfortable tagging slow with longer tags, I have the same level of feeling as I do when I say I prefer to put my hair in a braid than a ponytail--it is not a judgmental comment at all, and continually having to defend myself for being somehow elitist when all I mean is "this is how I deal with being a slow, tired adult" in these conversations is exhausting and derailing.
baldrshand: Looking over her shoulder with a smile (Default)

[personal profile] baldrshand 2025-02-01 06:10 pm (UTC)(link)
Thanks mods, I appreciate that. I know that tone can hard to be convey in text, but it really has felt like that more than once so I'm glad you are committed to working on it. I think that it makes it harder on you as much as us because if people don't feel comfortable bringing up issues, then you have no way of knowing until it becomes a bigger problem than it needed to be.

And if I have made anyone in the game uncomfortable by talking about relative tag speeds, I do apologize; it's absolutely not intentional. I've tried to compare it with sprinting/cross-country as things that are both valid, but also I've never been athletic in my life so maybe I've struck track & field beef by mistake. (Lord knows I wouldn't compare it to the soprano/alto or band/chorus thing...)

I used to be a fast tagger (I remember once when I was a lass apologizing to someone for "getting back so late" when it was like... replying to a Monday tag on a Wednesday, lmao, to say nothing of doing log threads on AIM) and I am honestly impressed with people who have retained that capacity even with all the life that's happened to us all since we were just-graduated high schoolers.
Edited 2025-02-01 18:16 (UTC)
ashaya: ( ᴄʜʀᴏᴍᴇsᴛʜᴇsɪᴀ: ᴅɴs. ) (Default)

[personal profile] ashaya 2025-02-01 06:50 pm (UTC)(link)
I'm going to mirror a lot of what Bryo said and mention too that I appreciate very much your commitment to working on tone and communication, because that can be the roughest parts of modding and, let's be honest, everyday life! We all make errors and need to be translated by others sometimes.

I cannot say I'm privy to what goes on behind the scenes, but I know in the spaces I have utilized publicly that the ideas were only spitballing and once dismissed directly, I don't recall bringing them up again as a person outside of prior, unrelated experiences in private spaces. I know others have brought up various weight systems as a possibility, but that was independent of me. I am sincere when I say that I really, truly do not care what style people use and don't think anything is less effortful unless no one is having fun. I have specified and clarified a few times, but I'm hoping this makes it even clearer. In my catered and (hopefully) public spaces, I think people know I genuinely don't judge anyone and play with whoever! I'm just here to have fun in a low stress environment as an old fart, same as most!
Edited 2025-02-01 20:01 (UTC)
baldrshand: Looking over her shoulder with a smile (Default)

[personal profile] baldrshand 2025-02-01 03:48 pm (UTC)(link)
Hello mods! First of all, thank you to Kri for doing everything she has to make this game so much fun to play in! I have so much enjoyed the events throughout her time as a mod. It is fair to say that I could not have played out the development arc with Ethlyn that I have in any other game, and the plot events are integral to that.

Second: thank you for changing the AC system. This will make it much simpler for us each month to feel as though we are not being judged wanting by an impersonal system of numbers even though we are actively engaging with the game.

However, I do have another piece of feedback to share besides my genuine appreciation, and that is tone of mod response to feedback. Unfortunately, and I'm sure unintentionally, you have created an environment where you seem hostile to hearing about issues with the game. In the past when I have offered feedback, the tone of replies has felt like I was being told off for perceiving a problem, and that even if the problem was real, it was not the mods' job to help me (to the point where I didn't believe I would receive any sympathy if I couldn't make AC even due to emergency). Although you include a solicitation for feedback on every SOTG post--which I believe is a good practice!--I have never actually felt that any feedback will be welcome after the first response I got to a suggestion on the mod post. Quite frankly, it has made me want to keep my head down and not attract attention from you.

In fact, the only time I have seen the mods take a receptive tone is when multiple people speak up in a public setting. IMO, this is not the most productive way to do things, as it requires collective frustration to reach the point of speaking up as a group, and during that time the game is liable to simply shed players who have continually felt unheard. I know that at different times, I have weighed whether or not I am welcome in the game after getting a curt and/or defensive reply from the mods. It has also made me very cautious about even casually talking about things like AC in semi-public settings except in rare circumstances.

I can get into specifics about where & how this has happened if needed, but I wanted to flag this issue because it has been persistent, and while I am very happy that you have taken our feedback on board this time, I feel that improving this issue will make dealing with any future game issues much easier on everyone, especially the mods.
Edited 2025-02-01 15:57 (UTC)
ashaya: ( ᴄʜʀᴏᴍᴇsᴛʜᴇsɪᴀ: ᴅɴs. ) (pic#17220714)

[personal profile] ashaya 2025-02-01 04:00 pm (UTC)(link)
Just chiming in to say that I agree with Bryo's point that the tone of mod responses and prior dismissals of issues has made it very difficult for a number of us to feel comfortable coming forward. As Bryo noted, that kind of reception to concerns or problems can make others look elsewhere for their enjoyment and generally makes the atmosphere less appealing to new/existing players.
skelters: (sekuhara) (riding this one wheel wagon to hell)

about the tdm!

[personal profile] skelters 2025-02-01 07:57 pm (UTC)(link)
Hello mods!!!!!

First of all I wanna say thank you Kri for all your hard work coming up with the amazing events and fun ideas for the game, and I do appreciate what you guys are doing 🥰 Expi is the first game I've found in a long ass time that I've felt really welcomed from day 1 and like I could stick around and have fun in ... and whoops look at that it's already been /checks watch/ 14 whole dang months so that's super wild!

But also a quick question:

I'm just wondering if the TDM this month will still be open to new potential players to try out the characters, or will it be closed to current players only? Just wanted to check!!

Also have my special out of context dog vash icon
endcaller: (Nobel invented dynamite.)

About Plot!

[personal profile] endcaller 2025-02-01 10:39 pm (UTC)(link)
Fandaniel here (and maybe some others?) uploaded code into the AI during the reset plot. A couple people also backed up the AI in various devices. I seem to remember y'all saying this would be addressed eventually when that plot wrapped.

Will we know what happened with that sat some point?